Many of us Mums work at home (or are WAHM’s) because we want to stay at home with our kids and raise them. Is it an easy option? No way man! Some days you feel that you are being pulled a million ways and the school vacations are the hardest. Some people choose to get a little extra help such as having an AuPair and some use camps etc. And some go it alone. I thought I’d do a list today of all the things I fit into just one day, though no two days are the same,  just to show what I do!

  • Answer and delete emails whilst chatting to my program director on Skype
  • Check Facebook updates
  • Check Twitter
  • Post recently prepared blog post
  • Start to prepare next blog post
  • Brainstorm other blog post ideas
  • listening to audio book of ‘Trust Agents‘ by Chris Brogan and Julian Smith while doing other things
  • kids wake up –
  • friends kid arrives so my 10 yr old can watch her for an hour
  • friends kid leaves – play date arrives for youngest
  • Update Facebook Business page
  • Put load in washer
  • talk to guy building fence about gate hinges
  • Wait! Realise haven’t had breakfast!
  • Post transition AuPair onto my website and onto Craigslist
  • Got distracted from breakfast so have early lunch
  • Empty dishwasher while making kids and me lunch
  • Load dishwasher and clean up kitchen after lunch
  • Put clothes in dryer
  • Update my business website some more
  • Youngest going to pool with friend, get all her stuff together and sunscreen her
  • Take eldest to music lesson
  • Run home and start doing some work on Social Networking Coaching Club with Ann Evanston stuff
  • Pick eldest up from music lesson
  • Dryer finished – fold clothes quick so I don’t have to iron
  • Put clothes away
  • Youngest phones and asks if friend can come for sleepover
  • Quick rethink on dinner for 5 not 4
  • Start dinner
  • Hubby arrives – needs to talk a lot about his day in his new role
  • Try to be as attentive as possible while feeding 3 kids and getting them helping lay table etc
  • After dinner do some more work on blog post ideas (and yes this is part of my work!) whilst watching So You Think You can Dance
  • Watch news a little
  • Forgot about fielding all the ‘can we have’s’ etc between all this.
  • Fall into bed and read latest book Olive Kitteridge for 1/2 an hour
  • Sleep!

And this was on a day that I didn’t do any cleaning or meet friends or go to the gym!!!!

What’s you day like? Is it as hectic as mine? Tell me about your life.

Comments
  1. Beth Boa says:

    wow Louise, what a day, I can totally relate as I have similar WAHM issues with trying to get everything done. My kids were even in camp this week and I still never got a hair cut with trying to get work done!

    • And that’s not to mention fielding the friend who wants you to change your schedule to work out with them because – if you’re at home you must be able to right? And she doesn’t work. I just think people don’t realise just how much we fit into a day – not that I’d have it any other way and I realsie it must also be hard for the mum who goes out to work.

  2. gigi says:

    I worked from home full time when my first was an infant. It is really hard to work at home and have kids…no doubt. You can’t ever give 100% to anything. There is always a distraction, be it noise, an obligation or just twitter! Thanks for coming by my blog yesterday!

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting! It’s so true – can be very difficult even though my kids are now 10 and 12. I’m ready for summer vacation to end – haha. Look forward to getting to know you through our blogs and twitter.

  3. Beth says:

    I can totally relate! Working from home with a toddler is a constant lesson in multi-tasking, I can only imagine what it’s like when they get older!

    • I’d say harder in some ways and easier in others. They obviously no longer have naps but they need the mum taxi service constantly. At least I have some peace when school starts 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

  4. MamaOnDaGo says:

    That’s it! You can kick it up a notch. LOL! Sometimes staying home requires more work than work.

  5. porschea87 says:

    Yeah you really had a busy day. To be a mom as well as a mom who works from home is like having double duty. I can totally relate. I am a mom, honor student, as well as trying to launch a home business. That is why I ENJOYED this post so much. I look foward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

