Is it because I’m a brit that one of my biggest gripes is bad manners of any kind. I was thinking about this the other day and the old adage ‘manners maketh man‘ sprung to mind. I sometimes feel like a regular Miss Manners or Emily Post but I just can’t help myself.

I’ve discovered that I live in a place that has what is known as Ā ‘Park City time’ which means that almost EVERYONE is always late and it drives me insane!!!! I just think it’s so rude! Being habitually late implies that a person places no value on the other persons time or regards their own time as more important. I have, of course, encountered habitually late people all over the world but it is particularly bad here and I hate it.

There was the window cleaner who told me he would come at 9am. I called him at 9.20 to see where he was and he said another job had come up that had to be done first – no apology – how RUDE!!! Guess who won’t be cleaning my windows next time.

I wish I could be chilled out about it but I’m a busy woman and I plan my day around appointments only to have the whole day screwed up by rude people! Well, I consider that I have been brought up to be well mannered so I shall continue to be obsessively punctual and shall continue to be enraged by lateness even if it raises my blood pressure.

There are plenty of other matters of manners and etiquette that get my goat (must be all the years of nagging from my parents – lol ) and I might just mention them at some point. Gripe over!

Does lateness bother you or what is your own gripe with bad manners? Or do you think old fashioned good manners are just that – old fashioned and outdated?

Comments
  1. William Hodgkinson says:

    Manners … a definate must. Too many people care too little for what others may think. Good manners can take you anywhere you want to go.

    As for time keeping … I think I must have got a few of my mum’s gene’s (or the Irish influence) there … times are always approximate! But then, my life does not have to revolve around set appointments. Some people ask how I can turn up for work 5 minutes late … but they never ask why I don’t worry about leaving 20 minutes late!

    • Thanks for commenting little brother šŸ™‚ At least I married someone who is also obsessively punctual – now to keep nagging the kids about their table manners……

  2. I hate late people Louise it drives me CRAZY!!!!

  3. Dawn says:

    As you know I am a pommie toooooo … lol, the manners and lateness gets my goat also. I still have to remind my children to use their manners even after all these years. I recall as a teen, getting onto a bus to school and told the driver the stop I wanted to get off .. he did not respond, I must have said about 5 times where I wanted to get off, confused at his lack of response … eventually I said please, finally I was allowed on the bus. As a child, I was taught all kinds of manners and politeness which just doesn’t happen any more …. asking to be excused from the dinner table, not interupting whilst adults are talking, always being respectful to my elders (even though they may be irritable and smelly), always saying please and thank you. It is a more difficult task now as other parents/cultures might not necessarily reflect your own teachings …

    • Thanks Dawn! Yes, we’re certainly living in a culture that does things differently. A post on table manners might be coming up at some point as my kids are picking up even worse habits here. I do insist on the please and thank you though – can’t abide them not using that. How they use their cutlery though – that’s a real battle!

      Louise Edington Childcare Coordinator louise.edington@lcc.culturalcare.com Tel: 435 647 6956 http://ledington.aupairnews.com Contact Me [image: Linkedin] [image: Facebook] [image: Facebook][image: Twitter] [image: WordPress]

  4. This is my biggest source of stress: inconveniencing others with my utter inability to get places on time in any consistent manner. We’re only talking a couple of minutes here, but I don’t like to be rude! I’ve started setting an alarm to go off 5 minutes before I know I have to leave to try to break this bad habit. Cheaper than moving to UT to live on “Park City time”! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

