Overcoming Fear Of Flying – or learning to ski when I never thought I would!

Posted: July 8, 2010 in Adventures in skiing and working out, International Adventures
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I can honestly say I never thought skiing would happen to me. When Chaz announced that he wanted to take a job in Salt Lake City, Utah I was horrified at the thought. My skiing experience previously involved a very short lesson on a bunny hill in Saskatchewan and then being taken to Sunshine Village in Banff, Canada by two friends and having the most godawful time. Let’s just say I didn’t ski but just fell down – a lot. Every time I got off a chair lift I fell over and the lift had to be stopped which was sooooo embarrassing.

That was 1986 and I vowed never to put two planks of wood on my feet ever again. I hated winter, hated snow and abhorred all winter sports – at least that’s what I thought. The only bit of that trip I enjoyed was the apres ski.

After being dragged kicking and screaming away from my idyllic life amongst the gum trees of the Adelaide Hills in Australia with their beautiful smells and grey green colors, I looked at this barren place with its’ high desert scrub and thought to myself ‘what have we done?’ We (well me – then convinced hubby) decided we had to live up in the mountains to escape the smog, the poor schooling in Salt Lake and the stifling LDS influence I thought to myself ‘Louise, if we are going to live amongst it then you have to try again and learn something from this’. I had my first lesson the week of my 49th birthday. I was terrified. The bunny slope seemed so steep at first, the skis felt like alien attachments on my feet and ‘what the bloody hell do you think you’re doing at your age woman’ was the foremost thought in my mind – but I had a glimmer of fun. I also overcame my extreme chair lift fear with the aid of my lovely instructor Frenchie who showed me how to get off without falling over. I had another lesson a few days later and then decided to practice, practice, practice.

I managed to ski another 10 times that first winter and I was happy pootling around on the green slopes, even occasionally getting a small amount of speed up. I finished the season feeling pretty pleased with myself for facing up to some of my fears and, to a degree, starting to overcome them.

Have you ever done something you thought you would never do and how did it make you feel?

Comments
  1. That is the best picture ever. Great blog! Can’t wait to read more. 🙂

    • Thanks! I liked that pic too though I wasn’t going fast enough at this point for such spectacular falls – lol

      • julia says:

        Hello My Dearest,

        My Name is Miss.julia williams, 25 Years Old Female and never married, I am writing this mail with tears and sorrow from my heart asking for your help at this time, I got your contact while searching for a trustworthy someone who will understand my present condition and come to my rescue here in the Mission Refuge Camp here in cote’divoire. I have passed through pains and sorrowful moments since the death of my father.

        My father was the Former Minister Kenyan road. And Assistant I Minister of Home Affairs Lorna Lobos had been on board the Cessna 210, Which Was headed to Kericho and crashed in a remote area Kalong’s called, in East Kenya. The plane crashed on the Tuesday 10th, June, 2008. You can read more about the crash-through the website below

        Site: http://edition.cnn.com/2008/WORLD/africa/06/10/kenya.crash/index.html

        After the burial of my father, my stepmother and uncle conspire and Sold my father’s property to an Italian Expert rate the shared Which Themselves Among the money and live nothing for me. One Faithful morning, I Open My father’s briefcase and found out the documents Which I Have huge amount of money deposited in one bank in cote’divoire with my name As the next of kin. I Travelled to cote’divoire with the documents to Withdraw the money for a Better Life So That I Can take care of myself and start a new life, on my arrival, the Bank Director Whom I met in person Told me that my father’s instruction to the bank Is That the money would only be release to me when I am married or present a trustee/Foreigner Who will help me and invest the money overseas. I am in search of honest and reliable person who will help me and stand as my trustee so That I will present him to the Bank for transfer of the money to His/her bank account overseas. I have chosen to contact you after my Prayers and I believe That You Will Not Betray my tr ust. I put my hope and my trust in you.

        Though you may wonder why I am so soon Revealing myself to you Without Knowing You, well I will say That my mind convinces me that you May be the true person to help me. More so, I will like to disclose much to you if You Can helps me to relocate to your country because my stepmother Have assonate Threaten to kill me but God did not allow her to achieve her plans. The amount Deposited with my name is ($5.6 Million United State Dollars) and I Have Confirmed from the bank in cote’divoire on my arrival.

        You will also help me to place the money in a more profitable business venture in your Country. However, you will help by recommending a nice University in your country so That I can complete my studies. It is my intention to compensate you with 30% of the total money for your services and the balance shall be my capital in your establishment. As soon as I Receive Showing your positive response I will put your Interest Th ings into Action Immediately. In the light of the above, I will appreciate an Urgent message Indicating Your Ability and Willingness to handle this transaction sincerely with me.

        Awaiting your Urgent response. Please do keep this only to your Self for now until the bank will transfer the Fund. I beg you Not to Disclose it till i come over because I am afraid of my wicked stepmother Who Threatened to kill me and Have the money alone, thank God Today That I am out from my country (KENYA) But now In (COTE’DIVOIRE ) These Where my father deposited money with my name as the next of Kin. I have the documents for the claims.

        Please find a place in your heart to read and understand my condition.

        Thanks and God bless.
        Sincerely Yours,
        Miss.julia williams.

  2. Ruby says:

    Good for you! Good first post! You are on your way!

  3. amy donovan says:

    wonderful story. despite growing up in new england, i have only being skiing once in my life + had a similar experience to your 1986 fiasco. i’m not saying i’m going to hop back up on skis tomorrow, but your post has reminded me that all things deserve a second chance, + with time, energy, + effort, we can accomplish almost anything.

  4. Ann Evanston says:

    Your tenacity and drive is what makes you my hero Louise! I think your vision to share what learning, growing and stretching is all about is so fabulous!

    Ann Evanston
    The Warrior is Within You
    http://warrior-preneur.com

  5. […] who was one of the boys I dated there gave me a ski lesson of sorts before my disastrous trip to Banff […]

  6. […] life, lorikeets, magpies, outback, paradise, Piccadilly, plans, UK, Utah 0 I mentioned in this blog post that I got dragged kicking and screaming from the Adelaide Hills so I thought I’d tell […]

  7. […] who was one of the boys I dated there gave me a ski lesson of sorts before my disastrous trip to Banff […]

  8. […] Fear of Flying August 8, 2010 By Louise Edington 36 Comments Tweet I wrote in this earlier blog post how I overcame a whole load of fears and learnt to ski at the age of 49. Well, ever since then I […]

Leave a Reply

